If you didn't already know from the 20th May 2018 the government will be introducing Three new categories to the MOT testing these include

  1. Dangerous
  2. Major
  3. Minor

Below you will find the 5 main changes you will expect to see from May.

The changes will affect cars, vans, motorcycles and other light passenger vehicles.

1. Defects will be categorised differently

Defects found during the MOT will be categorized as either:

  • dangerous
  • major
  • minor

The category the MOT tester gives each item will depend on the type of problem and how serious it is.

MOT testers will still give advice about items you need to monitor. These are known as ‘advisories’.

What the new categories mean

Item result

What it means about the item

How it affects your MOT result


A direct and immediate risk to road safety or has a serious impact on the environment.

Do not drive the vehicle until it’s been repaired.



It may affect the vehicle’s safety, put other road users at risk or have an impact on the environment.

Repair it immediately.



No significant effect on the safety of the vehicle or impact on the environment.

Repair as soon as possible.



It could become more serious in the future.

Monitor and repair it if necessary.



It meets the minimum legal standard.

Make sure it continues to meet the standard.


2. Stricter rules for diesel car emissions

There will be stricter limits for emissions from diesel cars with a diesel particulate filter (DPF).

A DPF captures and stores exhaust soot to reduce emissions from diesel cars.

Check your car’s handbook if you don’t know if your car has a DPF.

Your vehicle will get a major fault if the MOT tester:

  • can see smoke of any colour coming from the exhaust
  • finds evidence that the DPF has been tampered with

3. Some new things will be included in the MOT

Some new items will be tested during the MOT.

They include checking:

  • if tyres are obviously underinflated
  • if the brake fluid has been contaminated
  • for fluid leaks posing an environmental risk
  • brake pad warning lights and if brake pads or discs are missing
  • reversing lights on vehicles first used from 1 September 2009
  • headlight washers on vehicles first used from 1 September 2009 (if they have them)
  • daytime running lights on vehicles first used from 1 March 2018 (most of these vehicles will have their first MOT in 2021 when they’re 3 years old)

There will be other smaller changes to how some items are checked. Your MOT centre will be able to tell you about these.​

4. The MOT certificate will change

The current MOT test certificate (left) will change to a new style (right) to list the new types of defects.

The design of the MOT certificate will change.

It will list any defects under the new categories, so they’re clear and easy to understand.

The service to check the MOT history of a vehicle will be updated to reflect the changes.

Cars, vans, motorcycles and other light passenger vehicles won’t need to have a MOT if they’re over 40 years old and have not been substantially changed see (PDF, 62.8KB).

At the moment, only vehicles first built before 1960 are exempt from needing a MOT.

When the rules change on 20 May 2018, vehicles won’t need a MOT from the 40th anniversary of when they were registered. You can check the date the vehicle was registered online.

You won’t have to apply to stop getting a MOT for your vehicle.

However, each time you tax your historic vehicle (even if you don’t pay a fee), you’ll have to declare it meets the rules for not needing a MOT.

To find out more detailed information please visit

Don't forget you can be fined up to £1,000 for driving without a MOT.Contact us today if you would like to check when your MOT is due.

All information from